Manufacturing on a human scale is one of the principles of L/Uniform.

1

KEEP IT SIMPLE,
SOLID AND BEAUTIFUL

Woven canvas and leather: these two materials are the basis of L/Uniform, a manufacture founded on the desire to make simple and beautiful, useful and solid. The collections include ultra-functional versions of the bag, from schoolbags to backpacks, including cases, pouches, travel bags, saddlebags and shopping bags. They are available in different colours, the fruit of Jeanne Signoles' personal research. Prussian blue, for example, is preferred to navy blue.

Founder image

Each part is controlled according to precise specifications that include the quality criteria specific to each model.

Essential, light and practical, these timeless timeless items allow themselves a fantasy: colours. The colours of the canvas and leather and, what's more, the colours of the straps and handles. Combined, they form a multitude of models. While a large number of models are included in the catalogue, any unusual combination can be ordered separately.

L/Uniform designs and manufactures its collections in its workshops, mainly in France, Carcassonne and Portugal. From design to assembly to finishing and packaging, each stage of the production line is carried out by highly qualified craftsmen, trained within L/Uniform. A production tool, rigorous and perfectly coordinated, allows to pilot and control the manufacturing of series as well as special orders within realistic and controlled deadlines.

Founder image

Gandles and borders are carefully cut to ensure a perfect finish.

To create the L/Uniform models, Jeanne Signoles draws inspiration from utilitarian or professional forms.

2

Customize
HIS MODEL

By opting for linen and cotton woven canvas - and 100% cotton for the khaki canvas, the one still used by the army today - L/Uniform has chosen a light and resistant material, to which it gives back its letters of nobility. Thus, in order to be compatible with the manufacture of a bag or an accessory, the fabric is dyed "through" and then given a special treatment that respects European environmental protection standards. Through a coating process - double for the natural colour - all the fabrics are made washable, water-repellent and stain-resistant, while preserving their suppleness. As for the leathers - a drummed calf of Catalan origin - they are dyed in the mass in order to avoid premature wear and tear and to guarantee the uniformity of the colour, and treated "with a drop of water" to make them water-resistant .

Founder image

Whether in canvas or leather, each model requires an incompressible manufacturing time, a guarantee of its longevity.

The utilitarian sobriety of the models is overturned by the combination of colours but also by the possibility of personalizing them by printing a monogram in screen printing. This pattern can be cleaned (with soap and water) and, if it has faded or damaged over time, replaced.

Founder image

Any model can be personalised by silk-screen printing (up to three characters available in eight colours), a process that guarantees the intensity and opacity of the print.

SOUHAITEZ-VOUS TROUVER VOTRE ESSENTIEL ?
_

DISCOVER ALL OUR COLLECTIONS

Une manufacture à échelle humaine, telle est l’un des principes de L/Uniform.

1

FAIRE SIMPLE,
SOLIDE ET BEAU

De la toile tissée et du cuir : ces deux matériaux sont le socle de L/Uniform, manufacture fondée sur la volonté de faire simple et beau, utile et solide. Les collections déclinent le sac dans ses versions ultra-fonctionnelles, du cartable au sac à dos, en passant par la trousse, la pochette, le sac de voyage, la besace ou le sac à commissions. Ils se déclinent dans des teintes différentes, fruits de la recherche personnelle de Jeanne Signoles. Ainsi, le bleu de Prusse par exemple est préféré au bleu marine.

Founder image

Chaque pièce est contrôlée suivant un cahier des charges précis reprenant les critères de qualité propres à chaque modèle.

Essentiels, légers, pratiques, ces indémodables s’autorisent une fantaisie : les couleurs. Celles de la toile et du cuir et, de surcroît, celles des ganses et des poignées. Combinées, elles constituent ainsi une multitude de modèles. Si un grand nombre figure dans le catalogue, toute combinaison inédite peut faire l’objet d’une commande particulière.

L/Uniform conçoit et fabrique ses collections au sein de ses ateliers, essentiellement en France, à Carcassonne, et au Portugal. Du dessin au montage jusqu’à la finition et l’emballage, chaque étape de la chaîne de production est réalisée par des artisans hautement qualifiés, formés au sein de L/Uniform. Un outil de production, rigoureux et parfaitement coordonné, permet de piloter et de contrôler la fabrication des séries comme des commandes particulières dans des délais réalistes et maîtrisés.

Founder image

Ganses et bordures font l’objet d’une découpe minutieuse, garantissant ainsi une finition parfaite.

Pour créer les modèles de L/Uniform, Jeanne Signoles s’inspire de formes utilitaires ou professionnelles.

2

PERSONNALISER
SON MODÈLE

En optant pour la toile tissée en lin et coton – et 100% coton pour la toile kaki, celle utilisée encore aujourd’hui par l’armée – L/Uniform fait le choix d’un matériau léger et résistant, auquel elle rend ses lettres de noblesse. Ainsi, afin d’être compatible avec la fabrication d’un sac ou d’un accessoire, le tissu fait l’objet d’une teinture « à cœur » puis d’un traitement particulier, respectueux des normes de protection de l’environnement européennes. Par un procédé d’enduction – double pour la teinte naturelle – toutes les toiles sont rendues lavables, déperlantes et antitaches, tout en préservant leur souplesse. Quant aux cuirs – un veau foulonné d’origine catalane – ils sont teintés dans la masse afin d’éviter une usure prématurée et garantir l’uniformité du coloris, et traités « à la goutte d’eau » pour les rendre résistants à l’eau..

Founder image

Qu’il soit en toile ou en cuir, chaque modèle exige un temps de fabrication incompressible, gage de sa longévité.

La sobriété utilitaire des modèles est bousculée par la combinaison des couleurs mais aussi par la possibilité de les personnaliser via l’impression, en sérigraphie, d’un monogramme. Ce motif peut être nettoyé (à l’eau et au savon) et, s’il s’est estompé ou abîmé avec le temps, remplacé.

Founder image

Tout modèle peut être personnalisé par un marquage en sérigraphie (jusqu’à trois caractères disponibles dans huit couleurs), procédé qui garantit l’intensité et l’opacité de l’impression.